Kenneth Fuchs
In the Clearing (eight poems by Robert Frost), 1994

1. Hannibal
2. Devotion
3. Stars
4. Fireflies in the garden
5. Nothing gold can stay
Robert Frost’s evocative and gentle poems provide the perfect sensibility for musical set­ting. The selection of poems for In the clearing are, on one level, about nature and a walk through the seasons, fall to spring. On another level, they are about the im­per­ma­nence of the world arounda us and, perhaps, the uncertainty we often feel in our re­la­tion­ships to other people and the things we cherish. In the clearing was premiered by Coro Allegro of Boston in May 1995.

—Kenneth Fuchs


  • Composer Kenneth Fuchs.

©2021 David Friddle               Drop me a line, why don't you?